The official blog of Susan Landis-Steward, writer of whatever she likes, and co-founder of Puddletown Publishing Group

The Zen of Scooters


I rode my first scooter about a month ago and within a week I had bought my own. I had never ridden a motorcycle (except as a passenger, netting me a nasty burn on my leg) and had dreams of being butch. Pipe dreams, of course.

But the scooter! There was the ride for me. I found it fascinating how “in-the-body” I had to be while scootering. It was so zen. I went to Columbia Scooters in PDX, picked out a little hot pink and silver number, the Kymco Sting 50, and was off and riding.

So I’m scootering around the ‘burg, learning new things about myself as I go. Today, riding to my writer’s group, I realized that I was tensing my arms and locking my elbows. No wonder I was going wide on the S-curves. Can’t turn the handlebars if your arms won’t bend. I relaxed my arms, which relaxed my body, and we sailed gracefully through curves I have previously overflown, ending up in the oncoming lane. Thank God/dess we live in the back of beyond and I don’t have much traffic to contend with! Now I take the curves effortlessly, leaning into them as I should. (It seems so odd to me that I naturally lean on a bicycle but am afraid to lean on the scooter.) Guess in part it’s trusting your ride. I’ve been riding a bike for over 50 years, a scooter for about three weeks. And the weight difference between a 20+ lb bike and 200 lb scooter is also a bit scary.

I’m also  getting the hang of putting the scooter on its stand. I challenge myself to do it in one try and most of the time today I was successful.

Apparently the rules of the scooter world require you to wave at fellow scooter riders. Which I do if I can spare the hand. But today, for the second time, a motorcyclist nodded at me. Not quite a wave, but an acknowledgment that we were sharing the same road. That made my day!

So todays lesson: relax and unbend. And if you can’t wave, nod!

Comments on: "The Zen of Scooters" (2)

  1. Is this scooter like a Vespa where your feet are down in front of you or is it something you straddle like a mini motercycle? Can’t wait to see it!

  2. jdsalinger12 said:

    This is good story. Thanks for getting the word out about scooters. More people should get scooters. Scooters get in less accidents, are cheaper, get better gas mileage, have less of a repair bill, have cheaper insurance premiums, are better for the environment than cars. Simply put, they make sense.

    Best,
    Kyle Park
    http://www.motorized-scooters.net

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

