The official blog of Susan Landis-Steward, writer of whatever she likes, and co-founder of Puddletown Publishing Group

Writing with No Hands


Well, after several people suggested it, I finally joined the voice-recognition Revolution. I’m just learning, so don’t expect a lot from me. But so far in this post, the computer has made no mistakes. I’m using a program called MacSpeech Dictate which, as the name may indicate, is only for the Mac. If you’re still in the dark ages, and using a PC, the closest you get is Dragon NaturallySpeaking.

I just started using the software today, primarily for my indexing business, and it works great. I was amazed that the first word I spoke was entrepreneurial and damn if it didn’t spell it right. Most of the kids I know can’t do that. Most of the adults either. In fact, close your eyes and spell it right now. No I didn’t mean “it.” I meant “entrepreneurial.” Did you catch the punctuation. Yep. Both hands are in my lap.

I’m not sure what this is going to mean for my writing, but it means I’m going to get my work done. And that’s a good thing.

Tag Cloud

