The official blog of Susan Landis-Steward, writer of whatever she likes, and co-founder of Puddletown Publishing Group


The Contortionist is 20. She is the youngest, she is in the circus, she is spoiled. I admit it.  She admits. Her sisters agree. But she also has the same reading tastes I do and frequently just scoops up a new book and I never see it again. I bought the Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Doug Adams, got just past the destruction of the earth (I’ve read it before, back when I was probably 20) and she walked off with it. Granted, she did ask. But that was in March. She’s still reading it.

Why? Because it’s over 800 pages. Because she’s got college, circus, rehearsals, a job at Peets, a job at Blockbuster, and a life. She is one busy girl. No wonder she spends her time all tied up in knots. (I have pictures to prove it:

So I treated myself to another copy because a) given the summer I’ve had, The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery, while excellent, just wasn’t doing the job.  It’s smart, it’s entertaining in a quirky way, but it’s not funny. Right now, I need funny. Enter Ford Prefect and his entourage. I have no idea what reason b is. That focus thing again.

What are you reading? And if it’s funny, send it my way. I need funny right now.

Comments on: "Reasons You Have (or don't have) Kids # 502" (2)

  1. One of my favourite funny books is _Good Omens_ by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. It is my “go-to” book when life needs leavening. Another that I find both extremely thought provoking and comforting, tho’ not particularly funny, is David Brin’s _Earth_. Both of these are ones I turn to when my pollyanna optimism has been shaken.

    http://www.amazon.com/Good-Omens-Accurate-Prophecies-Nutter/dp/0060853972/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1279895454&sr=1-1

    http://www.amazon.com/Earth-David-Brin/dp/055329024X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1279895370&sr=1-1

    Blessed be.

  2. Lisa Nowak said:

    I’ve given you funny books and you don’t read them. How long have I been waiting for you to read In the Blood? Four years?

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

