The official blog of Susan Landis-Steward, writer of whatever she likes, and co-founder of Puddletown Publishing Group

Saving My Sanity


Okay, Crusaders, I had to do it. I apologize profusely. But when I looked at Google reader and saw several hundred posts from all you fabulous writers, I just had to do it.Β  Yep, I marked all as read.

Later today, I’ll start going through the posts that show up as new. But there was no way I could deal with several hundred posts. We are a prolific bunch.

In other news:

  • My upcoming book “Blind Leading the Blind,” a lesbian mystery, went to formatting yesterday. It will be released on March 20th by Puddletown Publishing Group. Yes, I know, I am a co-founder of the press. But my book had to go through the same process as all the others, and this one made the cut. Another one of my books did not. Well, it sort of didn’t. I have to do some serious rewriting on it then try again. That’s what happens when you have a blind acquisitions process. Even the owner can be rejected.
  • Building a social networking platform is fun. Too much fun in some cases. If any of you have ideas on how to reign in Twitter, let me know. I’m enjoying all the blogs and Tweets, and Facebook has been a big time suck for me for a couple of years now, but it’s overwhelming. My mother was a total Luddite and right now I’m sort of envying that.
  • Today, I have two things on my plate: Paying the bills and having some fun
  • Paying the bills means I have to do some writing for various clients. Yep. Non-fiction. Articles. Money. That sort of thing. With the new publishing company, we’re not yet drawing salaries, and I’ve had to put my indexing business on hiatus so I have time to do publishing. Things are tight. Thank God, I’ve got a big check coming soon and my partner’s tax refunds should be here any day.
  • Having fun: My favorite kind of fun! My middle daughter and the amazing 5-month-old Wonder Babe will be here this afternoon. There is nothing like a happy, well-attached, silly-face baby to make it all worthwhile. And, really, I find that the older I get and the more grandchildren I get (four in April), the more I find that I’m really doing everything for them. Whether it be writing a book, preaching a sermon, making the decision to live lightly on the earth, or starting a publishing company, it’s all becoming about what legacy I leave for my grandchildren. (To see some of my sermons, go here and here)
  • I’m skipping church. I love church. I love my church. But I also have fibromyalgia, a genuine pain-in-the-butt-and-everywhere-else condition. I have to set limits on what I do or I end up not being able to do anything. So years ago I instituted the one-thing rule. Basically, I allow myself one energetic activity per day (not counting work). And today it’s Wonder Babe.
  • This is especially important today as I did spend all of Friday night (until 9 am Saturday morning) doing final edits on my book. When I get to the end of a project, I can no longer work on it in small chunks. The last three passes have all been marathons, going through the entire book from start to finish. Unfortunately, Friday night was date night (that’s not the bad part) so I didn’t start editing until around 10 pm. (That’s the bad part.) Oh, well. It’s out the door and now I’m taking a few days to recharge before I start clean-up on the second book in the series.
  • Okay, in my final sanity saving move, it’s back to bed for this woman. Gotta get some energy before the Wonder Babe gets here.
Comments on: "Saving My Sanity" (6)

  1. And I thought I was busy! Enjoy your visit with Wonder Babe.

  2. Haha – when I first started using Google Reader (and this was BEFORE I’d added most of the Crusaders to my list) I had 1000+ new entries I had not yet read! LOL. So yeah, I had to do a lot of “Mark as read” too, but mostly I would check out the latest journal entry – if it was interesting enough πŸ˜€ – and mark the rest as read. I did go through a phase when I just marked everything as read and didn’t even comment on the interesting latest entry πŸ˜‰

    I guess my point is, I know how you feel. πŸ˜€

  3. Gina Blechman said:

    aww! I would love to see a picture of the Wonder Babe on your next blog! I hope you have lots of fun. I too am currently struggling with everyone’s blog posts. So many people with so much to say! It’s also why I haven’t added a twitter to my list of social networks yet. I’m afraid that I wont be able to handle it until I figure out how to manage all the blogging I’m doing.

    ❀ Gina Blechman (fellow crusader)

  4. Just popped on over to introduce myself as a fellow crusader and new follower. I’m off to try challenge # 1 now!

    Hope you feel better soon!

  5. Hi there fellow beginner blogger!

    Thanks for the confession about marking all blog posts as read – it makes me feel better about doing the same! I’ll be reading them from now on though and I’ve read at least one or two of everyone from my groups.

    Looking forward to getting to know you throughout the crusade!

  6. *nods* I’m afraid I’m going to have to do M.A.R soon myself as well 😦

    Wonderful to hear all your news, I hope you’re enjoying the Crusade so far πŸ™‚

    Hugs,

    Rach

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

