The official blog of Susan Landis-Steward, writer of whatever she likes, and co-founder of Puddletown Publishing Group


  1. As a person who trained as a theologian, I can’t help but see the numinous in all parts of life. Some days this is like an infestation of termites, chewing away at me. I call this the dark night of my soul. Those days where the Holy Whatever breaks through and I want to pull the shades and tell it to go away. Fortunately, those days are few.
  2. About the Holy Whatever. I believe in something some people call God and other people call by a huge variety of other names. I have no presumption that I know what that thing is, hence the Whatever. Yes, I do call it God at times, but I don’t ascribe it gender or human characteristics. But I think God with a big G is taken way too seriously by people of all faiths in ways that are not life-giving. I like to keep my humility by reminding myself that I don’t have the “true” God by the tail anymore than anyone else does.
  3. When I started seminary, someone told me that by the time I finished I would have lost my faith. In some ways, that’s true. I no longer am as limited in my perceptions as I was back then. This larger perspective informs my life (and my writing) but it sure makes it hard to admit that I am a follower of Christ. People interpret that so narrowly sometimes, and put me in a box. Being a liberal Christian is not easy in 21st Century America.

If you want to know what I really believe, here are some sermons. Here or here. If you need proof that I can find something theological in everything, check out this post on football here.

Three things I learned today:

  1. I worry too much, sometimes senselessly, and there are good people in my life who can help me calm down.
  2. How to use Networked Blogs
  3. That hot peanut butter on apples is really good.
Comments on: "Thursday’s Three Theological Things" (7)

  1. Roxanne Colyer Clingman said:

    The blessed thing about the dark night is morning always comes. You might want to consider peanut butter in any form as part of the root problem. 🙂

    • Susan Landis-Steward said:

      NO! Peanut butter is bad for me, too!?!?! Are you trying to starve me to death? 😉

  2. like the peanut butter bit! just wandered over to one of your sermons interested in finding out more about you – a new aquaintance of mine. Ver interesting and imformative – you and I have very little in common except a wish for all people to have more tolerance. As a long time atheist I found I could understand your nervousness at exposing yourself – I hid my non faith for many years because of the ‘shrill strident cries’ – I don’t feel the need to announce to everyone however I no longer feel the need to hide – this is what I am – I puzzle over faith and the faithful – fear the rabid – wish we could change human nature. I have no interest what so ever in a persons sexuality and fret that people seem to – when did it become a need to know thing? this common -in the UK as well I’m afraid – malady of mankind is distressing and so wrong.
    as a child 60yr ago I was bullied for being a little different (dyspraxic) and have had an intense dislike of bullies of all kind – but after six decades of life I fear the bullies are taking over esp. when times are difficult – the them and us syndrome operates even in the most basic socieites.
    Anyway enough of this – I like you – you are brave and true.

    • Susan Landis-Steward said:

      Thanks, Alberta. I, too, was bullied as a child (and I’ll be 60 this year as well) because I was the smallest, youngest, and smartest kid in my class. I had a delayed growth syndrome and didn’t start to really grow until I was about 12. One thing I like about the UU tradition is that atheists and all other stripes are welcome to the table and to the dialogue. One of my atheist friends liked that sermon best of all. Nice to get to know you, too.

  3. I agree. I think people spend too much time wondering what the powers that be are or who they are or what they’d want. Honestly, I don’t think that’s very important. I think that there is a force out there that helped create us and that nurtures and protects us. I believe strongly in the power of nature as well. But I think that other than virtue, and kindess, and trust, etc, trying to surmise what the powers that be would want you to do with your life is just a way for people to diffuse responsibility.

    ❤ Gina Blechman

  4. P.S. Peanut butter and apples is delicious. Peanut butter with warm, melted chocolate and apples is even better!

    ❤ Gina Blechman

  5. Thanks for your honesty in this post. I enjoyed hearing about your views, which incidentally are similar to mine. I’m currently reading ‘Seeking the Sacred’ which explores spirituality separate from religion – getting a lot out of it!

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

