The official blog of Susan Landis-Steward, writer of whatever she likes, and co-founder of Puddletown Publishing Group


I bet some of you thought I’d say blogging. Or balloons. Or even boy. But, nope, today’s post is brought to you by my favorite vegetable.  Brussel sprouts are the only reason I tolerate winter. If anyone ever makes a year-round Brussel sprout cultivar, I’ll be one happy girl.

What does this have to do with writing? Well, for one thing, my day job, at least until the publishing company gets more than three months under its belt, is writing gardening articles. Which is really funny because I gave up gardening when I gave up men. A long time ago.

But I’m married to a woman who loves to garden and will probably drag me into the dirt sometime this spring. We seriously need to do something about our yard. We built this house two years ago, right on a creek, and the first year we flooded. So much for yard. The flood was a fluke, but it set us back a bit. Then last year we were invited to share sacred space with death as a dear friend died of cancer. Some work is just to precious to pass up.

So, maybe this year, there will be Brussel sprouts. And if there are, I’m going to make Brussel sprout chips. My friend Domenica gave me this recipe over Facebook last night. She makes them with kale but that sounds weird to me. But she assures me they are just as good with Brussel sprouts.

So, you peel off the leaves of the sprouts, wash them, and let them dry thoroughly. Then toss with some olive oil and salt. Bake for 10 minutes at 375 degrees. Easy peasy. I guess you have to bake the innards a bit longer because there is a point beyond which you can de-leaf Brussel sprouts.

So, today’s post is brought to you by the letter B, the words bandolier, bongo, beanie, and bookkeeper, and the numbers billion and bazillion.

Comments on: "B is for Brussel Sprouts" (9)

  1. I love Brussels sprouts too! I have a recipe that calls for them to be shredded, mixed with crispy fried bacon and sauteed in a tiny bit of the drippings. Your version sounds decidedly more heart healthy!

    Stopping by on the A to Z Hop. I hope you will have a minute to stop by my “house” too.

    Cheers-
    Lana D.
    soberchronicfabulous.blogspot,com

    • Susan Landis-Steward said:

      But your recipe sounds absolutely delicious. My favorite breakfast meat is bacon!

  2. “There were three Brazillion fatalities.” “Just how many IS a brazillion?”

    Amazing the variety of cultivars of brassicae, isn’t it? Brusselsprouts are so good for you, and I just love mine with LOTS of butter!

    Good luck with the garden!

  3. my favourite vegetable but unlike you don’t want them all the year around I’m very much a ‘look foward with excitment to the season’ of all foods kind of person!! – all the best with growing them (I have always failed ) and with the rest of the A-Z

  4. I love to garden. My husband loves brussel sprouts. Garden flooded last year so we didn’t get any. May we both get to grow some this year.

  5. It’s not everyday that you meet a fellow brussel sprouts lover. I have finally convinced my family member that they taste really good. Of course I have to saturate them in butter to get them to eat brussel sprouts.

    Happy A-Z blogging! I’m over at http://sherrilackey.blogspot.com if you want to stop by!

  6. not a fan of brussel sprouts, always thought they looked like little brians

    happy A to Z

  7. I love brussel sprouts and so do my kids. Every time I go to the store they say, “buy brussel sprouts!”

    And who am I to argue with that?

  8. Hi Susan .. I love brussels too .. never tried them roasted like that – but makes sense .. and would be a good addition to the C for today (perhaps) Chickpea humous .. cheers Hilary

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

