The official blog of Susan Landis-Steward, writer of whatever she likes, and co-founder of Puddletown Publishing Group

C is for Catch


One of the best greeting cards I ever got had Henry David throw on the outside and Henry David catch on the inside. Maybe you have to be a Unitarian and big into the Transcendentalists to get the reference without a hint, so there’s the hint to the left.

But I’m not going to talk about Thoreau, or Walden Pond, or any of that. Although I will tell you that H.D. was not the hermit you might think during that time at Walden Pond. In fact, he was quite the gadfly. But that’s an aside.

Today’s word is catch. For some reason, I’ve been thinking about this word because it has so many uses and means. There’s catch as in catch the ball (which is what Thoreau was doing on that greeting card. Catch as in catch the fish—a whole different type of catching, and catch as in what the fish are after you’ve caught them.

Then there’s catch as in Catch-22, meaning something that gets you coming and going, catch as in what a lock does AND sometimes the lock itself. And what does “Catch as catch can” even mean?

Anyway, maybe it’s just musings more appropriate for Walden Pond in the 19th century, but it has amused me. What words amuse you?

This post brought to you by the words catamaran, calico, cadmium, cantaloupe, and cesium. Also by the Roman numeral C, the French nombre cinq, and the Spanish numero cinco.

All together now: “Uno, dos, trace, cuatro, cinco, cinco, seis” to quote some song my kids used to sing. Watch it here. It’s by Offspring.

 

Comments on: "C is for Catch" (6)

  1. Consumately clever and creative as ever.

  2. Ha! I love words plays like this. I love words that can be both its verb and its now and sometimes the consequence of its own doing. Like the words “itch” and “scratch.” Not that these are my favorite words, I just think they are interesting. You can have an itch that you can scratch or you can itch until you cause a scratch, or you can itch and itch or scratch and itch or scratch when it itches.

    So weird. So awesome.

    I mean the words, not so much the itching.

  3. Oh my goodness I didn’t even reread what I just wrote before posting. I apologize for the mistakes, I was listening to someone talk and typing at the same time and it all kind of got messed up in the middle. What I meant was this:

    Ha! I love word plays like this. I love words that can be both its verb and its noun and sometimes the consequence of its own doing. Like the words “itch” and “scratch.” Not that these are my favorite words, I just think they are interesting. You can have an itch that you can scratch or you can itch until you cause a scratch, or you can itch an itch or scratch an itch or scratch when it itches.

    So weird. So awesome.

    I mean the words, not so much the itching.

  4. I stopped by as part of the A-Z Challenge!
    gigglelaughcry.blogspot.com

  5. Kay Perret said:

    I got that card once, too!

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

