The official blog of Susan Landis-Steward, writer of whatever she likes, and co-founder of Puddletown Publishing Group

G is for Grandma


I know. I’m on a single-track today. But how many days do you get a new grandchild?

I love being a grandmother. The grandkids are great, but the real joy is in watching the mothers my own daughters have become. So far, two out of our three girls have had kids, and both of them are amazing mothers. There is nothing I enjoy more than watching the way they interact with their kids.

Our oldest has two “big” kids, a 10-year-old boy and a 13-year-old girl. Both great kids. And today they have a new sister, the Amazing Polliwog. My daughter and her husband are incredible parents and have decided they want four children. So in a year or two, three will become four. I’m so excited.

Our middle daughter and her husband have the incredible Wonder Babe. This child lives close enough to visit. We’re in Portland, Wonder Babe is in Seattle, the other grandkids are in Texas. So we’re getting to spend a lot of time with WB.

Since our other grandkids have lived all over the world (Army brats), we don’t get to spend a lot of time with them. And when we do see them, it’s all concentrated time. But with the WB, we can just run up for dinner when we feel like it.

As a publisher, my grandkids make me think a lot about the books we publish for kids. I want every book we put out to be something I’d be proud to have my grandkids read. Because we have one firmly in the early YA stage, I also want all our books to be age appropriate. I’ve talked about this in other posts here.

Anyway, I’ve been basking in new grandparenthood long enough. Time to make some money. But I thought you needed to know.

This post brought to you by the words grandchild, gratitude, grannie, and gratefulness. And by the number google. You did know it was a number before it was a search engine, didn’t you?

Comments on: "G is for Grandma" (6)

  1. I guess the grin is still there congrats on being grandma again – yes every book left must be one they will be proud of – and dont forget to leave your voice – record stories, memories because when you are gone the voice will tell them so much about you – and it will be the next bext thing to having you. (not being morbid – have recording of my ather and it’s great to listen to is voice)

  2. I hope G is also for great-aunt. I get to be one in June, if all goes well. And for the first time, I’m looking forward to meeting the little tadpole. As a youngest child and non-mother, I’ve never had that magnetic pull towards the little folks. I hold them out from me so they’ll drain or drip or whatever and look for someone knowledgeable to hand them off to. But now I’m finally so old that watching a new human take it all it sounds like fun.

    My great-aunts were pushing a hundred when I was a toddler. At least I’m getting a jump.

    • Susan Landis-Steward said:

      Of course it is! We got three new grand nieces and nephews this year. Having a huge family is wonderful. And we have two more coming this year. With thirty nieces and nephews, I’m not even going to try to keep track of the greats and grands. Congrats!

  3. I only got to meet one of my grandmothers, and she was the mean one 😦 Oh well.

  4. She is a cherub!

  5. Nice to meet you through the A-Z challenge! Hope to see you around!

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

