The official blog of Susan Landis-Steward, writer of whatever she likes, and co-founder of Puddletown Publishing Group

K is for Kidnapping


I did not write this book. But I’ve been there since it was conceived and this year I had the privilege of publishing it.

This is an amazing book about three idealistic environmentalists who kidnap the Secretary of the Interior, code named Lorax, to teach her to love the forests as much as she does.

The author, Patricia Lichen, is a long-time friend, and a real-life pirate. When my partner and I headed off to Peru to meet Wonder Babe’s other grandparents, Pat took me aside and told me that if I needed a good criminal attorney in Lima, she knew one. Not something I’d ever considered when traveling  before.

Seems Pat did a stint with Greenpeace back  in the day, and was arrested twice for chaining herself to the harpoons on whaling vessels. Hence the charges of piracy on the high seas. And the criminal lawyer in Peru.

Pat is a naturalist and writes a great blog at http://www.patriciaklichen.com/ where she will tell you weird things about opossum penises and dandelions and other such things. She also wrote some other books which Puddletown will be publishing in e-book form. You can find out more at her blog.

This week, in honor of Earth Day, we will be dropping the price of Pat’s book to $.99. Please buy a copy. You’ll be glad you did. It’s a great read and you’ll learn to REAL way to poop in the woods.

This post brought to you by kitchens, kitch, kittens, and killjoys everwhere. And by the numerical concept, kilo.

Comments on: "K is for Kidnapping" (1)

  1. Helen Wand said:

    I’m in the middle of Kidnapping of Lomax. It’s a fascinating read plus I’m learning about forests and fierce dedication to a cause. Having grown up in Oregon, I am aquainted with a lot of our wonderful lush native flora, but am only now beginning to become passionate about saving it. I’m not sure if I would have the intestinal fortitude that our three heros, Walden, Fern and Tracker demonstrate in this exciting story. I highly recommend it.

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

