The official blog of Susan Landis-Steward, writer of whatever she likes, and co-founder of Puddletown Publishing Group

M is for Manuscript


Okay, it’s getting late and I’m getting tired so I think this will be the last catch-up post for the day.

I love  illustrated manuscripts. This is an illustration from an old Arabic manuscript. I love Arab script. I used to be able to write it, but not calligraphically. The calligraphers spend a lifetime learning to do that. But look at that angel, with the head at the tip of his wing. Beautiful.

This illustration reminds me of three diverse books. One is My Name is Red by Orham Pamuk. Pamuk is Turkish and I read the book after returning from several weeks in Turkey. The book is about the calligraphers who do this amazing art.

The second book is A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter M. Miller, Jr. A classic of science fiction, this book was written in 1960 about a post-apocalyptic world where a group of monks set out to preserve knowledge and solve the mystery of an ancient grocery list. Okay, it’s much more than that. But I’ll never forget the grocery list. I think of it often.

The third is Umberto Eco’s Name of the Rose, a book set in a library. And what a library. Manuscripts! An embarrassment of manuscripts. Another great read. In fact, I think I have to head for Barnes and Noble right now and put some of these books on my Nook.

This post brought to you by the words magpie, mandible, manilla, and mandrake, and by the number million.

Comments on: "M is for Manuscript" (7)

  1. They are beautiful – the illustrtaions still glow – the colours used amazing – the detail and precision ! fantastic

  2. Very pretty and very interesting!

    Gregg Metcalf
    Colossians 1:28-29

    Gospel-driven Disciples

  3. We had six magpies in our backyard yesterday. Saw the word at the bottom of your post and felt compelled to let you know. Do you get magpies in the US?

  4. Thanks for sharing.

    I’m starting up a ‘Critiquing and Supportive Crusaders’ program, where participants in the Second Crusade can find other writers to exchange critiques with or form supportive critiquing circles. If you’re interested, come by The Kelworth Files to check it out!

  5. Ooo! Ooo! I need to read The Name of the Rose again. I LOVED that book.

  6. They are beautiful. I’ve heard Turkey is absolutely beautiful also.

  7. I love illustrated manuscripts. I don’t think that leaves many of us when we “grow up.”

    To Cally, we get magpies in Colorado, US!

    Good luck on the rest of the A to Z Challenge!

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

